Our new School-Based Health Center Strategic Plan is here!

The Delaware Division of Public Health (DPH), in collaboration with several key stakeholders, has developed a Delaware School-Based Health Center (SBHC) Strategic Plan.

The 13 goals of the plan include a comprehensive list of action items, such as creating new SBHC sites where the need is greatest, establishing a new hub-and-spoke model for SBHC setup, fostering partnerships to increase the base menu of services, facilitating referrals to providers, adopting culturally linguistic appropriate services, increasing the capacity for telehealth, developing data collection infrastructure and analysis, establishing payer relationships and funding channels, and more. The plan will be governed by an independent body from public and private sectors, with a completion target date of 2025.

The plan was developed to ensure that SBHCs are responsive to the individual needs of Delaware’s children — who, for a variety of reasons, may not otherwise have access to the health care system for critical health and wellness services.

Click here to see a site map and here to view a roadmap of when SBHCs were implemented in Delaware.

Learn more about Delaware School-Based Health Centers with this FAQ, and find locations and get contact information from the Delaware Division of Public Health’s SBHC page.

Download the SBHC Strategic Plan Infographic



Dr. Jon Cooper
Director, Division of Behavioral Health - Colonial School District
Dr. Aileen Fink
Behavioral Health Administrator, Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families
Leah Woodall, MPA
Section Chief, Family Health Systems Delaware Division of Public Health
Kristin Dwyer
Director of Legislation and Political Organizing, Delaware State Education Association
Christine Visher
Director, Center for Drug and Alcohol Studies - University of Delaware
Christina Crooks Bryan
Director, Communications and Policy - Delaware Healthcare Association
Forrest Watson III, BS, MBA
Founder & CEO / Executive Director - Life Health Center
D. Patches Hill
Director & CIO - Delaware Department of Education
Yvette Santiago
President, Board of Education - New Castle County Vo-Tech School District
Midge Barrett
Executive Director - SBHC Alliance
Catherine O'Neill, LCSW
Beebe School Based Health Center, Lic. Clinical Social Worker, Indian River HS
Amy Burnett, FNP-C
Bayhealth School Wellness Center, Center Coordinator (Smyrna High School)
Rochelle Lazorchak
Social Services County Operations Manager
Dr. Liz Brown
Medical Director - Delaware Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance
Kimberly Robinson, Esq.
Director, State Regulatory & Government Affairs - Cigna Corp.
Susan Haberstroh
Director, School Support Services - Delaware Department of Education
Dr. Priscilla Mpasi, MD, FAAP - Pediatrician
Pediatrician-Pedriatrics Specialist
Dr. Harry Lehman III, MD
Pediatric Services - Nanticoke Memorial Hospital
Rosa Rivera
Operations Officer - La Red Health Center
Kathy Cannatelli
Director, Center for Community Health - Christiana Care Health System
Dr. John Marinucci
Executive Director - Delaware School Boards Association
Fran Russo-Avena, RN, MSN, MSM
Delaware Technical & Community College
Delaware Division of Public Health Staff: Dr. Gloria James, Ph.D
Chief Bureau of Adolescent and Reproductive Health
Delaware Division of Public Health Staff: Cassandra Davis, MSM
Director of Adolescent Health


Please review the follow key documents in preparation for the Steering Committee’s retreat on December 17. These materials provide the context, background, and research from which the Steering Committee will review the draft workgroup recommendations and develop the final recommendations for the strategic plan.

View Documents